Knitting by cover of night

Eat Real Festival – Oakland 2010

Saturday at the Eat Real Fesitval.  We arrived early before the craziness really began and ate our way from beginning to end.  First up was Soul Cocina’s California Bhel Puri.  I, personally, love bhel puri so I was a bit concerned about the ‘califoniacation’ it was about to under go.  Silly me!  This was excellent – maybe my favorite thing I ate all day.  Fresh tomatoes, homemade chutney (from a bike powered blender), and all the crunchy yumminess that bhel puri usually has.  Only with this kind I don’t think I will have major tummy regret an hour later.

Next up: Namu – We had the okonomiyaki with an egg on top – can’t pronounce it but it sure was delicious.  I really wish we had had either napkins or better utensils for this one.  It was messy on just a paper plate, especially with the egg on top.

The baby was getting a bit cranky from being stuck in the stroller so we tried Cranky Boots Cold Confections popcicles – R and I enjoyed it but I’m not sure it did anything for the kiddo.  However, moving over to the kayak eating area where he could get up and run around seemed to make him very happy.  You want to know what makes me happy??  THIS:

Gobba Gobba Hey Orange Cardamom “gob” (kinda like a whoopie pie of awesomeness).  So good it’s also in the running for best thing I ate today.   Now to see what tomorrow brings.

Leave a Reply

