Knitting by cover of night

My New Most Favoritest Thing

The Diamond and Smocked Baby Blanket is finished, finished, finished. I love it so. It is, by far, my most favorite thing I have ever knit. While I was very ready to be done in the end, I in no way blame the blanket for that. I am the weak one, not the blanket. The blanket is intelligent – its splendid yarn overs prove that. The blanket is kind – its warm woolyness can attest. The blanket is patient – its rows and rows of seed stitch only add to its charm. I love the blanket. I am jealous of a baby not yet born because she is to have the blanket. Behold, the blanket:

Details:

Yarn: Cascade 220, The Heathers in Celery – 5 skeins
Start Date:
June 2007
End Date:
July 2007
Pattern:
Diamond and Smocked Baby Blanket available here for free

The pattern is vintage and uses different abbreviations for yarn over than I have seen before. Rest assured that w.r.n. and w.o.n. are both fancy ways of saying yo. In this pattern you will do yarn overs between 2 purls, yarn overs between knits and purls, and maybe even yarn overs between 2 knits. I had trouble with the yo between 2 purls at first but knittinghelp.com to the rescue!

3 responses

  1. The Baby Blanket is really fabulous, I congratulate you, beautiful work 🙂

    October 30, 2007 at 7:56 pm

  2. Hey, lovely blanket and btw, thanks for clearing up that ‘yo’ abbreviation for me! I’ve been dying to make this blanket for ages and finally I’m ready to go. Wish me luck!

    October 18, 2008 at 12:04 pm

  3. Thanks for the helpful info about the abbreviations! I’m about to cast on for this blanket and was totally confused.

    January 28, 2009 at 6:08 pm

Leave a Reply

